Glass House

trust-is-like-glass-once-it-is-broken-it-cannot-be-repaired-only-replaced-trust-quotes

“It’s broken. It’s can’t be repaired! You ruined it!” he cried. “Baby I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to.” I cried. He snatched away. I wiped the tears from my eyes. He jumped up off the bed. I watched as he paced the floor. I couldn’t believe it. Twelve years of marriage, gone. One night of drinking, cost me everything. I let one disagreement cloud my judgment. Me and my husband had been arguing a lot lately. If it wasn’t about money, it was about the children. I recently lost my job, and things became a little tight financially. Even though I was desperately looking for another one, the job market was at a standstill. No one was hiring, at least not with my skills. I had my first child when I was thirteen. I had no help. My mother put me out. I moved in with my boyfriend and his parents, but that didn’t last long. After Ava was born, he flipped and changed. He never wanted to be home. We were always arguing. One day I just got fed up with it all. I left and got a place of my own. By then I had saved up enough money to get me through for at least a month. I applied for Welfare and food stamps, so I was able to provide for me and my baby. I lived off of Welfare and food stamps until I was eighteen, by then Ava was five. I was able to enroll her in school, and I went back to school to get my high school diploma. I got a job working as a waitress at a place called Mimi’s Cafe. That’s where I met my husband. Life was good. We had everything. Fast forward twelve years later, and here I stand begging and pleading for him not to leave me.

A few months ago, we got into a heated argument. He would leave his credit card at the house, and I was responsible for taking care of all the household bills: food, mortgage, cable, car note,  car insurance, etc. Well, lately I had been falling behind. I figured I needed some self pampering. He was always working, and I felt like he never had time for me. He was never home. I went shopping, and spent a few hundred dollars. I borrowed the money from my mom to put in the bank before he noticed, but this one time I slipped up. Me and Rachel, my friend from work, when I had a job, went out for a girls night. I got a little tipsy and spent a little more than I thought. I was buying bottles, renting out the VIP section in one of the hottest clubs in Chicago. We had gotten in previous disputes about my spending, but at the time I wasn’t trying to hear it. I felt like since I wasn’t working, he felt that he could control everything I did. He would always question a certain charge on the card, or verify if the amount was correct. When I was working, we didn’t have this problem. I had my own money, and as long as the bills were paid, he didn’t have a problem. I figured, since all the bills were getting paid, then why was it a problem for me to splurge a little on me. I would talk to my friends about it, and they’d give me their advice. At the time, I felt like my friends understood me, so I had no reason to doubt their advice. I see now that was a fatal mistake.

While hanging out one night, I met this guy at the club. We were dancing all on each other, laughing and enjoying the moment. It got intense. It felt as if we were the only ones there. We exchanged numbers, and that was the worst mistake of my life. I started an affair, that had went on for a few months. I became distant towards my husband, I started neglecting my children. I even shut my friends out. I felt if no one knew, it would be just that much easier to hide it. Well, needless to say, I started to get careless. While me and my lover were out to lunch one day, I ran into Rhonda, my husband’s sister. I tried desperately to hide, but it was no use. She spotted me and came right to our table. She spoke, and I spoke back. I rushed the conversation between her, because I knew she didn’t really care for me. Even before I started an affair, me and her never really saw eye to eye. I was just cordial to her for the sake of my husband. After that day, I knew it was just a matter of time before my husband found out. I tried to end the affair, that way if and when he did find out, I could deny the whole thing. I could play it off as a casual date with an old friend. Little did I know, she had been there the whole entire time. She had pictures of us kissing and cuddling all over each other.

One day, I was sitting on the floor in the bedroom. I was sorting through the bills trying to figure out what needed to be paid next. I may be spend happy, but one thing was for sure, the bills were never late. In the middle of me reading the mail, my husband bursts in the door. “What the fuck is this?” “What are you talking about?” “Leanna, don’t play dumb with me. What is this?” he shouted as he threw the phone on the bed. I picked it up and looked at the content. My mouth dropped. “Baby I can explain.” I said as I ran over to him. “Don’t!” he shouted as he threw up his hands stopping me in my tracks. “I can’t believe you did this to me! To us! How could you! After everything I’ve done for you. Everything I’ve done for us! You just throw it all away?” “Baby, I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to. I just felt like you never had time for me.” “So you go out and cheat? You go out and parade around town making me look like an idiot. I’m out working busting my ass off for you, for me, for the children and this is what you’re doing all day! This explains everything. The distance between us. The coming in late. All of it. No sex. Hell you don’t even take care of the children like you used to.” “Baby I can fix this. I’m sorry. It will never happen again.” “You know what, you’re right. It won’t happen again. This is over. Me and you! We are done!” My heart sank at the sound of those words. I made a mess of things. I betrayed him. The one person who ever truly gave a damn about me, and I let him down. I was determined to save my marriage. “Baby, no you don’t mean that. You’re just upset right now.” I cried. He threw me off of him. I sat up and watch as he went to the mirror on the dresser. “You see this? It’s glass right? This was our marriage. In one piece. Now watch as I do this.” he said as he punch the glass, shattering it all over the place. He looked at all the pieces all over the floor. “Now this is our marriage. Shattered, broken into small pieces. No amount of glue you put on those pieces will fix it, you know why? Because when glass breaks it shatters. There is no fixing it. People sweep up the pieces and throw them away.” and with that he walked out the door. Out of my life forever.

 

This is just a short, so there will be no follow-ups to this one. Hope you all enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/glass/

One thought on “Glass House

Leave a Reply

