Strangers in a Friendly World

ab09658-children-playing-on-climbing-frame-in-park-gettyimages

If we take one look at the image above, you see children playing on a jungle gym. The obvious correct? Well, what you see and what I see are totally different. Children are by far the most precious gift of this earth. They are curious, as their minds explore the world around them. They are innocent in a sense that they are still learning the pros and cons of the world around them. With the things they say and do, as a parent it would make your day. It would brighten your world and warm you heart. But, do we really pay attention to the way children interact with each other? Do we really pay attention to how they speak and play with each other? I do, and I’m going to share my experience with you all.

As you all know from previous post, or if you read my about page, I’m the mother of a nine year old daughter. She’s so full of life. She’s a handful, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world. She’s constantly interacting with the world around her. I thought one day she’d grow up to be a botanist or a horticulturalist, due to her love for flowers and nature. Well, one day we decided to go to the park. It was late in the evening and the sun had gone down, so I figured it was cool enough to go. When we got there, the park was full of kids. It was as if the park was alive. We walked over to a park bench, where we both sat. I noticed she had sat down with me. I asked her what was wrong and she told me she was scared to play with the other kids. I told her to go play with the other kids like you play with the kids at school. She ran off, and for a few minutes, I didn’t see her. I sat back on the bench and started watching the geese at the near by pond. She came back to the bench and introduced me to her new found friend. I told her to go play some more, as the sun was getting really low. I sat back and watched the kids play. The way they played really had me in awe.

There were children from all walks of life, black, white, Puerto Rican, Asian,  Indian, and Chinese. The kids had never seen each other a day in their lives, and yet they were out there playing with each other as if they had known each other their whole lives. It made me start to think about the hatred in the world that people have towards each other. I thought that if we could just interact with each other like kids do, this world would be a better place. They were playing games like hide and go seek, freeze tag, frisby, chase, etc. It was a beautiful sight. Their little faces full of glee. They’re running around without a care in the world. Their spirits so free. As we get older, we start to care. Sometimes care a little bit too much. It changes the way we interact with people. See, children will bicker back and forth, they may even fight. But, the thing about children is they will be playing with each other tomorrow. The same person they fought or argued with, they will be playing with them tomorrow. As we get older, we start to lose the concept of tomorrow. Grown people will argue and fight, and that’s it. No talking to you when I see you, don’t come around my family anymore, things like that. Children are born with the concept of tomorrow, because unlike grown people, they live for tomorrow. They are always talking about what they can’t wait to do or who they can’t wait to see tomorrow. 

I think we as adults could learn a lot from the way children interact with each other. We may even be able to interact better with other adults. Everyone today is so much in competition with each other, that we forget how to just mingle and enjoy life. Have fun in the moment. Children don’t have that care in the world, because their only concern is having fun. 

The next time you’re at the park with your children, watch how they play together. Watch how they talk, they play, they move. Just watch them. You’ll understand what I’m talking about.

#everydayinspiration

Leave a Reply

