Predictably Opposite

6a0115709f071f970b017ee3b43180970d

Ever tediously plan a trip like months in advance, and when the time comes for you to hit the road, something throws you a monkey wrench. Yea, I know the feeling. This is the reason I never plan anything. You can be the most organized person, and something will still happen to mess it all up. People always tell me if I plan things ahead of time then I won’t have to worry about unexpected delays. I say that’s a bunch of bologna. I’ll give you a few examples from my own personal experiences.

Monkey Wrench no. 1: About two years ago I was planning to go to Miami for Memorial Day weekend with my friends. I started planning around March of that year. My mom was going to watch my daughter, I booked a hotel room and rental car. I was saving up vacation time at work and putting money aside so I could buy what I wanted. My car was fine, nothing wrong with it. I had just gotten the oil changed, put new brakes and tires on it. I also had just gotten a front-end alignment. So now I’m thinking I have taken care of all the important things. The weekend before Memorial day, my power steering went out. I thought it was low on fluid, so I bought fluid and put it in there. Didn’t work. I had my step dad take a look at it. He couldn’t figure it out. Needless to say I had to put it in the shop. I’m thinking it’s something simple that I can pay for real quick and still be able to go to Miami. Boy was I wrong. I had to replace my rack and pinion. Don’t ask me what that is, because I have no idea. All I know is it cost me $800 to get fixed. Still think I went to Miami? Think again. I was so mad. I had this trip planned in advanced and couldn’t go because I had to get my car fixed.

Mokney Wrench no. 2: My daughter was enrolled in summer camp that same year. Their end of the summer field trip was to Adventure Landing. I paid for the trip in advance, because I wanted to go. The week before it was time for her to go, we were at her grandmother’s house on her dad’s side. She’s an animal lover, so she had a lot of cats and dogs. I told my daughter to go and place a plate on the counter in the kitchen. Next thing I know she lets out a loud piercing scream. I rush over and my daughter’s face is covered in blood. I’m thinking it’s a small scrape or a cut. Wrong. The dog bit her in the face. We were in the ER for about 15 minutes before the Pediatrician on call came in and stitched her face. She had to get 40 stitches that night. I was depressed for a while, because I was blaming myself. I felt if I had gotten up myself and put the plate on the counter this wouldn’t have happened. Needless to say we did not make it to Adventure Landing that summer.

I could go on and on about how life throws curve balls at you, but I’m sure you get the point. This is the reason why I never plan things. I just do it. If it’s something I want to do, I just do it. Plans never work. They always fail. Organization is temporary, eventually it will mess up. Just be spontaneous. Why not? It’s your life. Live it the way you want. While everyone is busy planning their life, I just take it as it comes at me. The way I see things, if it’s meant to happen, it will happen. People kill me with sayings like “By the time I get 30 I plan to be married.” If it’s time for you to get married at 30 then you’ll be married at 30. If it’s not time, then you won’t be. You can’t force things in life, that’s how they fail. If you go through life forcing things to work in your favor, you will forever be miserable. Just let it flow.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/unpredictable/

One thought on “Predictably Opposite

Leave a Reply

